Join the Innovation. .. Become a Member ›

2011 Awards

The Women Tech Council recognized sixteen finalists in the Fourth Annual Women Tech Awards. The program recognizes technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies and are key contributors to the community. Finalists and award recipients were honored at an awards luncheon on Thursday, September 15, 2011, at the Grand America Hotel.

Award recipients, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

  • Trailblazer, Shawn Adamson 
  • Technology Entrepreneur, Jennifer Hwu
  • Technology Excellence, Patricia Hall
  • Technology Innovator, Sarah Hiza
  • Leadership Excellence, Susan Johnson
  • Rising Star, Kate Maloney

EnergySolutions, Ernst & Young and Stoel Rives

Michelle Munson, CEO of Aspera, an IBM Company.

STEM Student Awards:
This was the first year we honored a university level student with the Academic Excellence Award.

It went to Courtney Doyle from the University of Utah.



Shawn Adamson, XO Communication

Christine M. Archibald, ManagementPlus

Reyhan Baktur Ph.D, Utah State University

Erin Bolton, Pivot Communications

Wendi P. Coccimiglio, Ascend Alliance Humanitarian

Patricia R. Hall, Goldman Sachs & Co.

Kaye Hanson, Brigham Young University

Sarah B. Hiza Ph.D, ATK Aerospace Systems

Ruey-Jen Jennifer Hwu Ph.D, InnoSys

Susan Johnson, Futura Industries

Kristi Knight, Vivint Inc.

Kate Maloney, Costume Craze

Laura Nelson Ph.D, Red Leaf Resources

Karen J. Quinn, ATK Aerospace Systems

Mary Michelle Scott, Fishbowl Inventory

Sara Harris Watts, Utah Interactive

Join The Women Tech Community

Work with technology leaders | Access innovative tools | Create sustainable relationships