Join the Innovation. .. Become a Member ›

2012 Awards

The Women Tech Council recognized eight technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies and contributing to the community in the Fifth Annual Women Tech Awards held September 27, 2012 at the Grand America Hotel.

Award recipients, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

  • Leadership Excellence, Joy de Lisser
  • Technology Leadership, Sheh Bertram
  • Trailblazer, Alison Wistner
  • Professional Excellence, Heather Zynczak
  • Outstanding Entrepreneur, Jeanette Haren
  • Educational Excellence, Susan Thackeray
  • Impact Award, Josh James

EnergySolutions, Ernst & Young, Stoel Rives, USTAR, Zions Bank Women’s Financial Group and MountainWest Capital Network

Whitney Johnson, founding partner of Rose Park Advisors and Clayton Christensen’s partner.

Whitney Johnson dared to disrupt herself when she began her Wall Street career as a secretary, eventually rising to become an Institutional Investor-ranked sell-side equity analyst. She is currently a regular contributor at Harvard Business Review, the President of Clayton Christensen’s investment firm Rose Park Advisors’ Disruptive Innovation Fund, and is the author of the book, DARE-DREAM-DO: Remarkable Things Happen When You Dare to Dream (Bibliomotion, May 2012). When Whitney's not picking stocks, she invests in people, concepts and dreams at She is married to Roger Johnson, and they are the parents of two children.

STEM Student Awards:
This year the WTC launched a program that presented scholarships to four high school students pursuing STEM degrees. This year’s awards also included the new Academic Excellence Award for university-level students.

Student finalists, listed alphabetically, are as follows:
  • Amberly Evans, Utah State University, Physics
  • Dolly Holt, University of Utah, Biological Engineering
  • Heather Wark, University of Utah, Engineering
  • Margie Rycewicz-Borecki, Utah State University, Engineering
  • Stacey Smith, Brigham Young University, Chemistry

The Academic Excellence Award was given to Dolly Holt. 



Sheh Bertram, Zions Bancorporation

Jennifer Beyer, Allegiance, Inc.

Lyda S. Bigelow, University of Utah

Jill Canales, 3form, Inc.

Joy De Lisser, ATK Alliant Techsystems Inc.

Amberly Evans, Utah State University, Physics

Jeanette Haren, TrueNorthLogic

Dolly Holt, University of Utah, Bioengineering

Janna J. Lewis, Holland & Hart LLP

Malgorzata Rycewicz-Borecki, Utah State University, Environmental Engineering

Cory Schaeffer, Listen Technologies

Gina Sanzenbacher, Jordan Applied Technology Center

Stacey Janel Smith, BYU, PhD Physical Chemistry and Xray

Sabrina Stover, BidSync

Susan L. Thackeray, Utah Valley University

Shauna Theobald, Utah Valley University

Heather Wark, University of Utah, M.D./Ph.D in Bioengineering

Christy Whitehouse, The Summit Group

Alison Wistner, Mercato Partners

Heather Deason Zynczak, Domo

Join The Women Tech Community

Work with technology leaders | Access innovative tools | Create sustainable relationships