Join the Innovation. .. Become a Member ›

Women Tech Council recognized 20 technology- focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies and contribution to the technology economy in the Ninth Annual Women Tech Awards held at the Grand America Hotel.

Award Recipients, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

  • Leadership Excellence, Vicki Fish
  • Rising Star, Kat Kennedy
  • Educational Excellence, Dr. Shalini Kesar
  • Technology Trailblazer, Yelena Makogon
  • Innovator, Christina Qi
  • Customer Excellence, Gwendolyn Smith
This year, the Impact Award was given to Utah Valley University for their support of SheTech. President Matthew Holland accepted the award.

Domo, EMC, Governor’s Office of Economic Development, Vivint Smart Home, EY, USTAR, and Varian Medical.

Julie Hanna, Presidential Ambassador for Entrepreneurship

STEM Student Awards:
We have also sponsored over 100 high school students to attend the awards, helping to inspire the next generation of STEM-focused students. In this and other efforts, we are an integral part of the STEM education pipeline for young women.

This year's university student finalists were:

  • Alex Valenzuela, Utah Valley University 
  • Christine Mooth, Brigham Young University
  • Katharin Jensen, University of Utah

The Student Development Award was given to Christine Mooth.



Brenda Mann, Ph.D., EyeGate Pharmaceuticals

BriAnna McKissen, Experticity

Christina Qi, Domeyard LP

Desiree Matel-Anderson Field Innovation Team

Gwendolyn Smith, Instructure

Jennifer Holmes, Central Logic

JoAnn Lighty, Ph.D., University of Utah

Kat Archibald, Degreed

Melissa Loble, Instructure

Michelle Suzuki, RizePoint

Shalini Kesar, Ph.D., Southern Utah University

Starr Fowler, Vivint Smart Home

Theresa Foxley, GOED

Vanessa Quigley, Chatbooks

Vicki Fish, Myriad

Yelena Makogon, Goldman Sachs

Join The Women Tech Community

Work with technology leaders | Access innovative tools | Create sustainable relationships